Author Spotlight — Dawn Cahill

Because I am totally asea with social media, I totally missed Dawn’s great follow-up post in March. And so, humbled and groveling, I now gift you with the great interview we did about those tough questions writers hate to answer. Dawn is the author of Sapphire Secrets. She does a weekly drawing for a free e-book of new subscribers to her blog: http://dawnvcahill.com/

Dawn, thanks for being so gracious and sticking with me.

Tell us how much of yourself you write into your characters.

The character Luna in both my books has a unique talent that she shares with me: the ability to write catchy limericks. I always thought it would be cool to earn money writing personalized limericks for people. In “When Lyric Met Limerick”, Luna lives out that dream when she sets up a booth at Seattle’s Pike Place Market, asks people a few questions about themselves, and voila, in 15 minutes she’s written a rhyme tailored just for them!

Here’s the one she wrote for her love interest:

My new friend Howard McCreary

Will strum his guitar till he’s bleary.

If I tag along,

He’ll sing me a song,

For life without music is dreary.

 

When did you first discover that you were a writer?

In third grade, I wrote a short story about a little Manx kitten whose mother didn’t love her because she had no tail. Until an older, wiser cat impressed on her the importance of loving her children just the way they were. I got such positive feedback from my teacher, I wanted to keep writing stories that people enjoyed and made them think.

What is the quirkiest thing you have ever done?

Wow, it’s hard to nail it down to one! When I was young, I constantly tested boundaries and lived on the edge. So I’ll give you the most recent quirky thing. A few years ago when I was getting my master’s, I led our team presentation on Disney, and I played the role of Minnie Mouse having a financial presentation with Disney management. Other team members played a back-from-the-dead Walt Disney, and Mickey Mouse himself. I wrote the script and even sang “It’s a Small World” in a squeaky mouse voice. I tell you, we were a big hit, and earned an A+ for our efforts!

About Dawn:

Dawn V. Cahill, an indie author from the land of microbrews and coffee snobs, published her first book, When Lyric Met Limerick, in 2015. She blogs about puppies, substance abuse, and single parenting…sometimes all in the same day. She’s going to finish that novel she started at age 11 called Mitch and the Martians…someday. She has written several newspaper articles and more limericks than she can count. Sapphire Secrets is her first full-length novel. Email her at dawn@dawnvcahill.com, or find her on Facebook, Twitter, and her website. She is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW).

 

About Sapphire Secrets:

Haunted by a family secret, a young woman sets out to uncover the real truth behind her mother’s tragic death.

Twins Livy and DeeDee McCreary open a dance studio in honor of their late mother, whom they lost when they were six. Problem is, Livy remembers nothing of the day her mother died. The more she questions her family about that awful day, the more she suspects she’s been lied to all her life. While she’s seeking answers to what really happened, she keeps crossing paths with handsome engineer Scott Lorenzo, who compels her to question the New Age philosophy she was raised on. What if there is a personal God out there who cares about her?

Before Livy can discover answers, a brutal accident interrupts her search. Her life flips upside down as she faces a future she is not prepared for. Yet the unanswered questions continue to haunt her. Can she find the strength to keep on with her quest, even if it means losing the two people most dear to her–her twin, and the man she loves?

2015 Finalist, ACFW First Impressions Contest

Amazon buy link for Sapphire Secrets:

http://www.amazon.com/Sapphire-Secrets-Christian-contemporary-Seattle-ebook/dp/B01AL7VIO8

SapphireSecretsFrontCover

3 thoughts on “Author Spotlight — Dawn Cahill

Comments are closed.