Writing is My Passion — Stephanie Guerrero

This week I am thrilled to welcome Stephanie Guererro as she tells us about her passion for writing.

Writing is my passion; a great story is my escape. God is the ultimate author of happily-ever-after if we will let Him write our stories. Whatever He is teaching me at the moment usually comes out in my writing, even when writing fun, sweet romances like Cocoa Christmas Bride.

When my editor approached me with the Cocoa Christmas series, her guidelines were simple. Include: cocoa, Christmas and a light and airy romance. I immediately thought modern-day fairy tale! What if instead of a Cinderella rags-to riches story, I wrote one about two people who already have what we would consider “everything”. Where would such people find real and lastly romance? Thus was born the concept of an heiress trained since childhood to run a billion dollar family Cocoa and Coffee Conglomerate, and a modern day heir to a kingdom. Though the book is a sweet as cream romance there are elements of the burdens and sacrifice of leadership.

I usually “let the story write itself”, but this time, I outlined my hero’s personality, habits, favorite things and fears on paper whether it ended up in the book or not. It really helped me get to know my characters. I want characters that have their own unique voice and are relatable. It was an experiment that I would definitely repeat.

One of my favorite parts of writing Cocoa Christmas Bride was the emphasis on chocolate! There are recipes for different cocoas and a gourmet chocolate dessert in the back since my heroine is heiress to a cocoa corporation. She is also a stress baker! My own mom called me after reading it and asked if I stress bake! The answer is no. It was part of creating a unique character that came through. I love to bake, but not when I’m stressed. When I’m stressed, I read light-hearted romance and EAT the dark chocolate! J

My biggest advice to a beginning author is to write what you are excited about and never quit! If you love to write… write! Join writers groups or even start one! Getting published is the cherry on top  and there are many opportunities to do so; but never let a bad review, a publisher’s rejection or a friend/family member’s criticism stop you from writing. If you write long enough, you will be hit with all of these at one time or another! Keep writing. Pray. Commit your writing to God, and let Him use it.  “Seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness and all these things will be added to you.” Matthew 6

Stephanie Guerrero is author of Shades of the Orient, and several novellas. She is passionate about sharing Christ’s redemptive power through fiction; and is living proof that serving Christ every day is an adventure and a fairy tale! She lives with her “prince” of a husband of twenty-four years, two teenage sons and two pre-teen daughters in the Southwest. You can find her on: Amazon https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=stephanie+guerrero

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/mynoveladventures/?ref=aymt_homepage_pane

or email at warriorranch@yahoo.com

 

 

3 thoughts on “Writing is My Passion — Stephanie Guerrero

  1. I am so proud of my friend. She truly is a woman after Gods heart. An inspiration to many she knows. Stephanie I look forward reading more. May Our Heavenly Father keep his blessing soon you as you write for him. I love you Sister and cherish our friendship!

Comments are closed.