God’s Purpose, or Mine? — LoRee Peery

Today I am excited to welcome author LoRee Peery as she shares a devotional with us.

Have you ever thought if Jesus compels you do something, and you’re obedient, He’ll lead you to great success?

I believe it’s a mistaken notion that dreams of success are God’s purpose for us. After all, don’t we learn by our mistakes?

Over the years, I’ve heard other authors talk about the writing life itself as the meaningful journey. It took quite a while for me to realize His purpose for me is all about my dependence on Him and His power for whatever is going on right NOW. If I’m obedient in the seemingly mundane, His will for my life is being worked out.

In other words, His purpose may very well be the process of obedience.

It’s okay to have goals, to work toward something. I need to make those lists and set those aspirations for myself, or no story will ever be told. The main thing is that I set my eyes on Jesus. See Him in front of me. Feel Him beside me. Know He’s inside me, as I go along.

More importantly, if I focus on Him, my process glorifies Him, even if my goal is to glorify Him with a completed task is done.

My goal needs to be to glorify Him, minute by minute. If my heart and subconscious are fixed on Him, those words come from Him for Him.

Borrowing a daily prayer from my Aunt, Violet Ingram:

I give this day to you, Lord. Everything I say and do, Lord.
Guide me hour by hour and minute by minute.
And may I put my whole being in it.
Doing the work You have me do, and to You goes the glory –
When I get through doing the things that bless my soul.
Loving not fighting, encourage, not demean,
Ever-living for my King, trusting Him in everything.

About LoRee:

Nebraska country girl LoRee Peery writes fiction that hopefully appeals to adult readers who enjoy stories written from a Christian perspective, focusing on the romance. These include novels and novellas for women and men in the Contemporary, Romance, Historical, Time Travel, and Mystery/Suspense categories. She is who she is by the grace of God: Christian, country girl, wife, mother, grandmother and great-, sister, friend, and author. Connect with LoRee through these links: www.loreepeery.com

https://twitter.com/LoreePeery

Find her publications at Pelican http://tinyurl.com/kwz9enk

And Amazon https://www.amazon.com/LoRee-Peery/e/B004UAGL2W/ref

2 thoughts on “God’s Purpose, or Mine? — LoRee Peery

  1. It’s a beautiful day in my neighborhood (acreage in southeast Nebraska), and I wish you that you see God’s blessings wherever your neighborhood is.

Comments are closed.