June Foster — Author Spotlight

Today I’m excited to welcome June Foster for an author spotlight. Read through to the end to find out how you can enter to win an ebook copy of “Prescription to Romance”.

An award-winning author, June Foster is a retired teacher with a BA in education and MA in counseling. June’s book Give Us This Day was a finalist in EPIC’s eBook awards and a finalist in the National Readers Choice Awards for best first book. Ryan’s Father was one of three finalists in the published contemporary fiction category of the Oregon Christian Writers Cascade Writing Contest and Awards. Deliver Us was a finalist in COTT’s Laurel Awards.

June has written four novels for Desert Breeze Publishing. The Bellewood Series, Give Us This Day, As We Forgive, and Deliver Us, and Hometown Fourth of July. Ryan’s Father is available from WhiteFire Publishing. Red and the Wolf, a modern day retelling of Little Red Riding Hood, Books One, Two, and Three in the Almond Tree Series, For All Eternity, Echoes From the Past, and What God Knew are all available from Amazon.com.

Recently June has seen publication of Christmas at Raccoon Creek, Lavender Fields Inn, Misty Hollow, Almond Street Mission, Restoration of the Heart, Letting Go, and Prescription for Romance, all published by Forget Me Not Press, a division of Winged Publications.

June enjoys writing stories about characters who overcome the circumstances in their lives by the power of God and His Word. June uses her training in counseling and her Christian beliefs in creating characters who find freedom to live godly lives. Find June on line at junefoster.com.

Author Interview Questions:

  • What is the accomplishment that you are most proud of?

I am a thirty-year veteran of the public schools. I became a teacher because my aunt was a teacher as well as my mother. I suppose I believed it was expected of me. I loved instructing children but never actually felt it was a calling from God. Then as a retiree in my early sixties, the Lord literally overwhelmed me with a story lurking in my mind and heart. He let me know I was to write contemporary fiction. Wow. He awed me with the strong desire to serve Him in this way. So I have to say, I’m most proud of being an author—not because I accomplished it but because God used me to write stories that glorify Him.

  •  What is the problem with writing that was your greatest roadblock, and how did you overcome it?

Truthfully, I haven’t overcome this problem yet, but I’m in the process of working on it. Recently I had several reviews on my book Almond Street Mission that stated the same thing. They read the book and felt I’d preached at them. I love reflecting God’s truth in my novels but need to show it in a more organic style. I’m working on it!! But I’ll never apologize for holding those views.

  • Do you prefer cats or dogs? Why?

Oh, definitely dogs. Cats are aloof and not as friendly. Dogs are loyal creatures who don’t care what I look like or how talented I am. They love unconditionally. They are man’s best friend.

About Prescription for Romance

Pharmacist Stephanie McCoy grew up in an opulent home with an aeronautical engineer father who never had time for her and a socialite mother who put clubs and charities before her daughter. Now as an adult, Stephanie’s looking for affirmation—and affection in the wrong place. Only thing, the guy she pursues is a Christian with solid moral values. When her mother becomes ill, Stephanie can’t imagine life without her.

Scott Townsend teaches history at the high school in Oak Mountain, Alabama, and lifts weights after school hours. His younger brother borrows a large sum from Scott’s father then disappears. But after Scott’s sibling returns penniless, Scott is furious at his parents’ acceptance of their wayward son. When Scott’s invited to a welcome-home celebration, he drives to the house but refuses to come inside though his father pleads with him.

After Scott confides in Stephanie about his bitterness toward his brother, the beautiful pharmacist offers Godly encouragement he never expected. Can Scott relinquish his pride and forgive his brother? Will Stephanie find faith in Scott’s God and allow Him to heal her heart? The sequel to Letting Go, the story is loosely based on the Biblical parable of The Prodigal Son.

Prescription for Romance is loosely based on the Parable of the Prodigal Son. Do you enjoy contemporary stories patterned after Biblical parables? Why or why not?

Leave a comment below to enter to win an ebook copy of Prescription to Romance.

4 thoughts on “June Foster — Author Spotlight

    • Thank you, Catherine. I so appreciate it. One question Donna asked was whether I like cats or dogs better and I said definitely dogs. To prove it, my next story will feature a golden doddle who’s instrumental in helping a wrangler and dude ranch guest find romance!

Comments are closed.