A TX Holiday Reunion — Shannon Vannatter

Today I’m excited to welcome Shannon Vannatter as she talks about her latest book. Don’t miss the giveaway details below.

I love seashells. To me, they’re proof God exists. Who else would care enough to make such intricate houses of different shapes, sizes, and species for tiny sea creatures?

Over the years, family and friends have learned of my fascination with shells and brought me large samplings from their ocean trips. Thanks to them, I have tons of shells in my collection. In the last few years, I’ve moved my shell collection out of the bathroom and into my office area of our living room. The large screened box I found at a flea market is probably a bread box. I painted it beachy and filled it with shells instead.

Eighteen years ago, I finally made it to Galveston on the way to visit our San Antonio area kin. My first ocean visit was magical. I saw a small shell and tried to pick it up. But most of it was buried in the sand and was actually rather large. It took some digging and tugging, but I got it. Then a perfect sand dollar washed up at my feet. I waded along the shore and shelled. I love to swim, but I like chlorine and I’ve seen those pictures of oblivious swimmers in the ocean with sharks a few feet away.

We rode a ferry to Galveston island with gulls swirling above begging for food and ate at a seafood restaurant on a pier. Sandy legs and feet with windswept hair, but I didn’t care because everyone else looked the same. I decided that day, I could happily be a beach bum. Magical. This is the shell I dug up and I keep all my Galveston shells in a jar separate from the rest of my collection.

Next on my agenda—Corpus Christi. I’d heard the water was prettier. I’ve learned the best way to get to go somewhere is to put it in a book. Then I have to visit for research. Seventeen years after my first ocean visit, we made our trek to the family ranch last July, then took a day trip to Corpus.

The water is prettier, bluer. But the shells I found were teeny tiny. My husband and son went out shoulder deep and let the waves wash over them, as I walked the shore watching for shark fins. The lack of shells and heat of July made me decide maybe I’m not beach bum material after all.

Especially after Harvey. But I still love the ocean and got fodder for my fiction. My hero and heroine, who are in the log furniture industry, go to Corpus for a trade show and a nice beach jaunt in the middle of their Christmas story.

Our next beach trek will definitely be during a cooler season. I’ve been researching best shelling in TX. Surfside Beach may end up in another book in the future. Since we haven’t been there, I feel a road trip coming on.

Giveaway details:

Comment to enter the drawing for a copy of A Texas Holiday Reunion. Six copies will be split among names drawn during the blog tour from Oct 18 – Nov 3. One winner will get to pick the theme for a custom made memory board personally crafted by the author. Deadline Nov. 10th. Winners will be revealed on the author’s blog on Nov 13th. Go to my website http://shannontaylorvannatter.com and sign up for my newsletter to enter more giveaways and get a free book download.

Follow my blog tour for more chances to win A Texas Holiday Reunion:

About A Texas Holiday Reunion

His Christmas Homecoming

With her foreman out of commission, Resa McCall needs horse trainer Colson Kincaid to run her family ranch through the holidays. But having the handsome single dad back in Bandera, Texas, is unsettling. Colson broke Resa’s heart years ago, and she can’t risk getting close again. Still, working with him and bonding with his sweet little girl is making the ranch feel merry and bright. Being at Resa’s side stirs up emotions Colson thought were long gone. But he has a powerful secret that could keep them apart forever. Can Colson give Resa the one Christmas present that might finally bring them back together—the truth?

About Shannon:

Award winning author, Shannon Taylor Vannatter writes contemporary Christian cowboy romance and has over a dozen published titles. A romance reader since her teens, she hopes to entertain Christian women and plant seeds in the non-believer’s heart as she demonstrates that love doesn’t conquer all—Jesus does.

She gleans fodder for her fiction in rural Arkansas where she spent her teenage summers working the concession stand with her rodeo announcing dad and married a Texan who morphed into a pastor. In her spare time, she loves hanging out with her husband and son, flea marketing, and doing craft projects.

Connect with her: Shannon’s Facebook, Shannon’s Goodreads, Shannon’s Pinterest, Shannon’s Twitter, and Shannon’s Amazon Author Page.

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “A TX Holiday Reunion — Shannon Vannatter

  1. I love seashells, too. St. Petersburg FL has some of the whitest sand beaches I’ve ever seen. When I was there, a long time ago, the sand was full of pastel periwinkle she’ll. Gorgeous! Good luck with your book.

  2. I like seashells, also. I just got back from visiting my sister in Hawaii. I looked for shells, but didn’t find any but teeny ones. Maybe I went at the wrong time of year. Texas beaches have some good shells. I have a lot that my parents collected over the years when they went.

    • Hey Shelia,
      I’ve wanted to do that. But where my office has been in the living room, I’ve tried to keep my shells to a minimum and I don’t have much wall space around my desk. We’re in the process of building me an office. I’m so excited!!!! I’ll have four walls to decorate however I want.

  3. I love sea shells also. our front room is ocean themed. I love what you have done with the old bread box. I remember my grandmother had one of those.

    • My husband and son hate all my seashells. As we speak, carpenters are here building me an office. I think my family is as excited to see my shells leave the living room as I am. The bread box was red with a rooster on it when I found it.

  4. I love sea shells too! We collect them where ever we go. We have a giant glass vase in our living room filled with our collection.

    • I don’t get to as often as I’d like, Linda. I used to crochet. I wore a crochet sweater to church Sunday and someone asked if I made it. I bought it from Walmart, but I could have made it. It was less time consuming to buy it though. My husband and I have a flea market booth, so we have fun making items for it.

Comments are closed.