Are You in Your Book? — Catherine Castle

Today I’m thrilled to welcome author Catherine Castle as she share insights into her novel, A Groom for Mama.

Readers often want to know how much of the author is in a book. The answer is, “It depends.”

I think it’s impossible to write a book without subconsciously, or even consciously, inserting part of your knowledge, your history, your personality, or your experiences into the story. After all, we are the sum total of those things. You may not have experienced all of the things that happen in your book, but on some level an author knows of that about which she writes. And if we don’t know something, then we research it. Funny thing is, as the author you might not even know how much of you, or your personal experiences, you’ve unconsciously inserted into your book.

Take my newest book A Groom for Mama for instance—I’m not personally in my sweet romantic comedy, but after the novel was finished, and I’d read it a couple of times, I realized part of me was in the book. Like Allison I did have a habit of breaking up with guys before they could break up with me—probably because my first big crush dumped me after our very first date. You don’t forget an ego-bruising blow like that.

Unlike Allison, however, I never used a dating service to find a date. They didn’t exist back when I was dating. My mother never tried to trick me into dating the man of her choice. Fortunately, she liked the one I chose. Nor have I had to watch my mother struggle with cancer. I did, however, watch my father slip from me, his memory taken by Alzheimer’s disease. And I did lose a dear friend to cancer too early in her life. In fact, Mama is named after her. So I know the pain of loss.

I also know the healing power of laughter and joy. When you are dealing with hard issues, finding humor and positivity in the hard times can lift your spirits. Laughter, and the ability to see the irony and the brighter side of a situation, is a defense mechanism that has carried me through hard times. I use that power of joy in my story to help the hero and heroine through their trying circumstances.

In A Groom for Mama, Mama wants Jack to marry Allison. Allison wants to remain single and find a cure for Mama’s cancer. And Jack is stuck in the middle arranging dates for the woman he loves. The three are scheming and at odds with one another while Cupid is having a field day as the trio searches for cure and A Groom for Mama.

About A Groom for Mama:

Beverly Walters is dying, and before she goes she has one wish—to find a groom for her daughter. To get the deed done, Mama enlists the dating service of Jack Somerset, Allison’s former boyfriend.

The last thing corporate-climbing Allison wants is a husband. Furious with Mama’s meddling, and a bit more interested in Jack than she wants to admit, Allison agrees to the scheme as long as Mama promises to search for a cure for her terminal illness.

A cross-country trip from Nevada to Ohio ensues, with a string of disastrous dates along the way, as the trio hunts for treatment and A Groom For Mama.

First page of Book:

Chapter One

“I need a husband, Jack, and you’re the man for the job.”
Jack Somerset smiled, held the hand of the sixty-seven-year-old woman who had become his substitute mother, and gently patted it. “You’re a bit old for me.”
“The husband’s not for me. I want him for Allison.”
Dropping Beverly’s hand as if she had announced she had leprosy, he said, “I’m not going to marry your daughter, Beverly.”
“Oh, heavens, no.” She laughed and gave him a motherly smile. “That’s not what I meant. I want you to help me find a husband for her. One just like you.” Pausing, she pinned him with a stare worthy of a safari hunter spotting his quarry. “You two did have a serious relationship once. You know what she likes.”
He pivoted away from her and then spun back. “Is this your idea or Allison’s?”
“Allison doesn’t even know yet. She hates the idea of getting married. But I want to be sure she’s provided for when I’m gone.”
“She’s a big girl. I’m sure she can take care of herself just fine. She wouldn’t have made it in New York if she couldn’t. All that corporate climbing.” And some of it had been at his expense.
“She’s almost thirty. I can’t wait forever for her to make her own choice.” Beverly leaned forward and grasped his hand again. “I’ve got something important to tell you, Jack. I’m running out of time.”

About Catherine:

Catherine Castle, author of the multi-award-winning inspirational suspense romance, The Nun and the Narc, and the sweet romantic comedy, A Groom for Mama, loves writing, reading, traveling, singing, watching movies, and the theatre. In the winter she quilts and has a lot of UFOs (unfinished objects) in her sewing case. In the summer her favorite place is in her garden. She’s a passionate gardener who won a “Best Hillside Garden” award from the local gardening club.

Links:

Buy links for A Groom for Mama

www.amzn.com/B074SZSGB1

Catherine’s website: https://catherinecastle1.wordpress.com

Catherine’s blog: http://catherinecastle1.wordpress.com/blog/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/AuthorCCastle @AuthorCCastle

Facebook: https://facebook.com/catherinecastleauthor

 

One thought on “Are You in Your Book? — Catherine Castle

Comments are closed.