How the Silvershell Beach Inn Came to Life — Christina Lorenzen

Today I’m thrilled to welcome author Christina Lorenzen as she share insights into her novel, The Silvershell Beach Inn.

When my publisher was looking for authors to write stories based in each of the fifty states, I immediately ‘put my hand up’ for Massachusetts. Do I live there? No. But from the time I was born until my late teens, I spent every summer visiting my mother’s parent’s house in the small town of Marion, where my mother is from.

I have so many wonderful memories of those summers spent at my grandparents’ house. The house itself was on a tremendous piece of property. My grandfather had several large gardens. In the vegetable garden he grew tomatoes, potatoes, carrots and corn. When it came to fruit, my grandfather’s garden could have supplied a small farm stand with raspberries, strawberries and blackberries. On top of that, there were apple, plum and pear trees all brimming with fruit.

My grandmother was the one that took us to all the great places Massachusetts is known for. We saw all the sights in Boston. We spent hours walking around Provincetown, stopping in each and every gift shop. We learned more about history visiting Salem than we could ever have learned from a text book. But the best memories of all were the endless hours I spent on Silvershell Beach with my three cousins.

I knew immediately that I wanted to set this love story on Silvershell Beach. The idea of a beautiful family owned inn just fell into place, despite the fact that in reality there is no inn on Silvershell Beach. But like many stories, in order to make the story its best, a little research goes a long way. The best research is the actual pictures and facts you can get from the people who live where your story is set. For me this meant calling my cousin Susan, who still lives within minutes from that beach, and getting some facts about my setting.

What a great time I had reminiscing about those times we shared on Silvershell Beach. It turned out a lot of my memories of the beach were in sync with hers. Even better, the picture of the beach I held in my head all these years was still pretty much what it looks like today. We had a great time going down memory lane, and Susan loved helping me ‘decorate’ the inn for my story. When we talked about going back to our grandmother’s house after a day on the beach, she reminded me of how the five of us cousins would have my grandmother’s Portuguese soup for dinner. Honestly, I’d forgotten about that soup, called Canja. After talking to my mom about it, we realized that the only person who had my grandmother’s recipe anymore was Susan. Because the story is about two families’ pride in their Portuguese heritage, I decided that it would be fun to share the recipe with my readers. With Susan’s help, I put together the ingredients and the instructions, and Nana Penna’s Canja Soup is included at the end of The Silvershell Beach Inn.

Writing this story was a wonderful way to pay tribute to my mother’s family’s heritage. It was also a great way to reconnect with childhood memories that I’ve held dear to my heart all these years. I hope if you pick this story up, you’ll be inspired to reconnect with your own treasured family memories.

About The Silvershell Beach Inn:

Blindsided by a broken engagement, Jacy Penna hastily throws an overnight bag together and leaves New York City, heading to the place that never changes – her grandmother’s house in the small town of Marion, Massachusetts. But in her haste she forgot about Zach Silva, the local boy that broke her heart when she was fifteen years old. Hoping to spend some time reliving sweet memories of summers past with her grandmother, Jacy is blindsided again when she finds out her grandmother has sold the house – to Zach Silva’s family. Determined to avoid running into Zach during her short visit, Jacy soon finds out that while nothing stays the same, love endures.

Zach Silva has come home to The Silvershell Beach Inn, his family’s elegant seaside inn, for as long as it takes to step down from his part in the family business. Sure his life is back in New York City, he’s ready to leave small town Marion in his rear view mirror. But he’s never completely forgotten the summer he said goodbye to his teenage sweetheart, Jacy Penna.

Always fond of Jacy’s grandmother, he convinced his family to buy Jacy’s grandmother’s house and bring the aging grandmother to cook at the inn. Augusta’s Portuguese specialty meals will bring a touch of the Silva family’s culture to the Inn. He hasn’t heard a word about Jacy in years. Sure she’ll never return to Marion, he’s shocked to find her sunning on Silvershell Beach. Seeing Jacy brings back too many memories and he begins to doubt his future plans.

Will one weekend back in the small town where memories of summer love still haunt them both be enough to help Jacy forgive and Zach find where his future really lies?

Amazon Link: http://tinyurl.com/y7uwgs5p

About Christina:

Christina started writing as a young teen, jotting stories in wire ring composition notebooks. Her first typewriter made it faster to get all those stories out of her head and down on paper. Her love of writing has sustained her through a myriad of jobs that included hairdresser, legal secretary, waitress and door-­to-‑door saleswoman.

Luckily for her, writing proved to be successful and a lot less walking than going door to door. The Silvershell Beach Inn is Christina’s seventh book. She is also the author of A Husband for Danna, its sequel, A Wife for Humphrey, Snow Globe Reunion, Harvest Blessings, Healing Seas and the contemporary spin on a fairy tale, Rapunzel’s Lighthouse. She is busy working on a historical romance that will appeal to Downton Abbey fans. When she isn’t writing or reading, she can be found walking her dog, talking to her herd of cats and spending time with her family.

To find out about Christina’s upcoming releases, visit her website at http://christinalorenzen.com/.
Subscribe to Christina’s newsletter and be entered automatically each month to win a $5 Amazon gift card at http://christinalorenzen.com/connect-with-christina

Email:  carp119@aol.com
Website: http://www.christinalorenzen.com

Social Media Contacts
Twitter https://twitter.com/ChrisFoxLorenz
Facebook https://www.facebook.com/ChristinaLorenzenAuthor/
Amazon Author Page https://www.amazon.com/Christina-Lorenzen/e/B00NI9ELKA/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1475083023&sr=8-1
Instagram  https://www.instagram.com/christina_lorenzen/
Pinterest https://www.pinterest.com/chrisfoxlorenz/

 

