We Are Chosen — June Foster

Today I’m thrilled to welcome award-winning author June Foster as she encourages us. Read all the way through to the end of the first page of her latest release to see how to enter a drawing for a free e-copy of Misty Hollow.

I love to get up in the morning, grab a hot, steaming cup of coffee and my Bible, and spend time with the Lord. It seems to set the tone for the rest of the day and provides perspective for what I say and do.

I often feel called to intercede for others. So before I pray for the president, friends, or church family, I first pray for family members. Why? Because they are just that. Flesh and blood people that are related to me and always will be.

I remember these dear ones at Christmas or on their birthdays because they are family. Though I appreciate the employee who works in the produce department of Wal-Mart or the mechanic who fixes my car, or even my prayer partners, family members are first in my thoughts.

I may move away from my hometown and change churches. Sometimes old friends fade into the past as I make new ones. But family members will never fade away. Perhaps I might not be in touch with everyone, but nothing can change the fact they are still related to me.

With God, I can see a distinct parallel. We are chosen members of God’s family when we accept His Son the Lord Jesus Christ as our Savior. We are a part of His Kingdom, His family, and will spend eternity with Him. Nothing can change that fact.

God’s family doesn’t have anything to do with what I look like, the color of my skin, my talents and abilities, but has everything to do with God’s grace and mercy and my willingness to turn my life over to Him.

“But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy  nation, God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light.” 1 Peter 2:9

“But to all who did receive him, who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God.” John 1:12

“You are no longer foreigners and strangers, but fellow citizens with God’s people and also members of his household.” Ephesians 2:19

If we love the members of our own family, how much more does God love us. Hallelujah.

About June:

An award-winning author, June Foster is a retired teacher with a BA in education and MA in counseling. Her characters find themselves in tough situations but overcome through God’s power and the Word. She writes edgy topics wrapped in a good story. To date, she’s seen fourteen contemporary romances published. Find June online at junefoster.com.

 

First page:

Molly Cambridge’s car bounced and bumped with each rut on the narrow dirt road. Thick old-growth forest obscured the light. Farther down, leaves on a stand of birch trees quivered in the wind.

A gust rocked the ten-year-old Mazda, sending Molly’s pulse pounding. Storms in the mountains could be fierce, even in the summer months.

Ahead, low concrete guardrails bordered the sides of a bridge. Molly peered out the windshield at a rising creek. The muddy water threatened the banks as it rushed and rippled on the way to lower ground.

She gripped the steering wheel until her fingers turned white. How easy it would be for the wind to sweep her light-weight car over the sides and into the rushing stream. She clenched her jaw. “Maybe I should’ve stayed in Nashville.”

No, she had to follow her heart.

The red Mazda zigzagged across the narrow wooden bridge and jaunted along the road’s curves through shadowy maples. Ahead, a rusty sign attached to a metal pole read Misty Hollow .5 miles. Almost there.

A blast of air pitched the car, nearly jerking the steering wheel from her hands. She swerved and barely avoided plummeting down the cliff. Her heart went wild, synchronized with the velocity of the wind.

Drops of rain the size of quarters pelted the windshield and the Mazda swayed again. Molly squinted, trying to see through waves of water distorting her view ahead. Lightning split the darkened sky, and thunder boomed overhead. “Nothing to do now but stop and wait it out. Calm down, girl. It’ll be over soon.”

A chill traversed her spine. The soil on the side of the road was a mucky mess. No way could she pull over there.

Something darted from the tree line in front of her and stopped. Hands clammy on the steering wheel, she slammed on the brakes. The Mazda’s back tires skidded in the mud.

 

 

Reader question: What excites you the most about being a part of God’s kingdom?

Leave your reply to enter into a random drawing for a free e-copy of Misty Hollow

 

 

2 thoughts on “We Are Chosen — June Foster

  1. Thanks for allowing me to share on ALLBETSAREOFF today. In Misty Hollow, Joel learns how being a part of God’s family will impact his life, as well.

Comments are closed.