Dream a Little Dream — Jenny Harrison

Today I’m happy to welcome author Jenny Harrison today as she encourages us to follow our dreams.

I have liked to write since I was a teenager, not only creative writing but also old fashioned letter writing.  I also like to journal.

The last couple of years, I’ve felt led to write for a higher purpose, i.e., to offer hope and healing.  It started with a single devotion I had published in the Secret Place magazine in summer 2015.  I actually wrote that devotional in 2003.  In the last couple of years, I’ve written more. A single theme binds my devotions together, i.e., how every day events can relate to Scripture. I want to publish them in a book but haven’t been sure how to go about it.  I assumed I would go the self-published route but I heard Karen Kingsbury talk about publishing recently and decided not to rule out traditional publishing.  This is something I wouldn’t have considered before.

In the month of May, I became serious about writing the book that has been on my heart for several years.  It started as a short story and is now novella size but I would like to expand it to novel size.  I plan to write other books focusing on characters introduced in the first book.  The main theme in book one is ensuring that God is our hope, not a romantic relationship.  Book two is about letting go of the past and book three is about overcoming serious strongholds.  Book four is on the theme of facing and overcoming trials.

In the same month, to help reach my goal of writing book one, I became a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers Association.  It excites me that I feel I belong there.  In fact, I vividly remember when the dream to be a published author was born.  It was 2012 and I was newly divorced.  For years, due to a heartbreaking marriage relationship, I had seemingly lost the ability to dream.  When a counsellor asked me to, the most I could come up with was a dream to attend a Christian concert and travel to Ireland.  In 2012, I was reading a Cloud and Townsend book when out of nowhere the desire to be a published author fell into my lap, so to speak.  I assumed I would write self-help books as I was working towards my Masters in Counselling but realized before long that it would be Christian fiction, something I wasn’t even interested initially.  I didn’t care anything about Christian fiction until I read Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers in 2013.  After that I was hooked and am now as passionate about reading Christian fiction as writing it.

Speaking of the American Christian Fiction Writers Association, it is because of my membership there that I have this opportunity to write this guest blog post.  Thank you, Donna!

IMG-20150618-00338

Jenny Harrison is an administrative professional by trade and a writer by passion.  Having recently completed a Masters in Human Services Counselling from Liberty University and having overcome heartbreak in her own life, she has a desire to write with the purpose of bringing healing and hope to those who need it.

Web-site: https://jenny217240.wixsite.com/mysite

Linkedin: https://www.linkedin.com/in/jenny-harrison-81564b96/

