The Story Behind A Second Chance — Alexis Goring

Today I am excited to welcome back Alexis Goring as she shares some of the story behind her latest release, A Second Chance.

This story, A Second Chance, was born out of an idea of an inheritance letter, my experience as and entry-level print journalist, real-life stories of brides being jilted at the altar, and a tribute to the nice guys.

 

So how does all of that come together to create this story?
I’m glad you asked!

 

I’ve always wanted to write a story about an inheritance letter that would rescue my character from financial difficulty. At first, I had trouble making it believable and true to the terms of a real-life inheritance letter. But my book editor Liz Tolsma helped me to work out the details and my research on the matter also helped to make this aspect of the story realistic.

 

I’ve heard real-life stories of brides being left at the altar and read non-fiction books about it too. So I knew that this was a touchy and relevant topic to write about in a fictional story. My dream is that this story will give hope to the broken hearts of women who experienced the pain and shock of being left at the altar on their wedding day or having their fiancé dump them only hours before their big day.

 

When it comes to the life of an entry-level journalist, I know it very well. I’ve worked in that career field on a freelance reporter basis and am very well acquainted with the system of paying your dues and the frustration that comes along with it. How do you pay your dues when you need to pay your bills? It’s a real-life issue that I address in this fictional book through Traci and Marc’s struggle as entry-level journalists.

 

Now when it comes to the “nice guy,” I wanted to pay a tribute to them through Marc’s character. He’s known as a Mr. Nice Guy and it interferes with his dreams of a lasting relationship with a woman who is committed to him. All of Marc’s ex-girlfriends broke up with him before their relationship reached the point where he believed that he should propose marriage. They said he was too nice and that they just wanted to be friends. Then they left him with a broken heart while they moved on to a romance with a more daring and dashing man.

So when Marc meets Traci, he has trust issues that are sky high and ocean deep. But the funny thing is, so does Traci because she’s a jilted bride.

Given these details, I think that my readers will like Marc and Traci and love their story because it’s real yet inspirational.

There’s also a bit of matchmaking in this story, courtesy of Marc’s sister Gina. She makes a good living as a bestselling author of inspirational romance stories. Her skills as a novelist play a role in helping Marc and Traci create their own happily-ever-after.

And that my dear readers, is the story behind A Second Chance!

 

About Alexis: Alexis A. Goring is a passionate writer with a degree in Print Journalism and an MFA in Creative Writing. She loves the art of storytelling and hopes that her stories will connect readers with the enduring, forever love of Jesus Christ.

 

Where to find Alexis:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorAlexisAGoring/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/PennedbyAlex

Website: http://www.screenwriteralexis.com

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/capturingidea/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7260528.Alexis_A_Goring

“God is Love” blog: http://capturingtheidea.blogspot.com

One thought on “The Story Behind A Second Chance — Alexis Goring

  1. Thank you so very much for these words. I have not, at this point, been called to write fiction but I admire fiction writers because the imagination is something that has to be your best friend. In nonfiction I am relying on facts that have been brought about by life circumstances. I still do research and am careful about being authentic. You too are relying on things from your experience but have put them into a story of hope and inspiration. Thanks for sharing the part about relying on editors and also making it seem “real.” As Christians I think we are always called to put hope in the story. Part of that comes from our editors and beta readers as they give us valued voices to reflect upon. Sounds like we are on the same page here. Love this idea and thanks for helping this nonfiction writer look behind the scenes of creating a fictional character or two or three or more. What a joy. Who knows, is there a fiction piece in me that God will inspire me to put down? Well, if He does, you have given me some resources for moving forward. Blessings and thanks again,

    laura padgett

Comments are closed.