The Chrysalis Effect — Delia Latham

Today I’m thrilled to welcome author Delia Latham as she shares her insights into the Chrysalis effect and how we’re all on a journey to completeness and beauty. Read all the way through to find out how to win a free copy of Spring Raine, (print in US only).

Love is like a butterfly,

As soft and gentle as a sigh.

The multi-colored moods of love

are like its satin wings…

Why, Dolly Parton, of course!

 

So now I’ve guaranteed you’ll all be humming that pretty little Parton tune while you read my post. I won’t try to talk you out of it. Far be it from me to try and compete with Dolly! Besides, I love the butterfly song too.

monarch_butterfly

Believe it or not, some people do not like butterflies…and some have a deep-seated, overwhelming fear of them. It’s called lepidopterophobia. (I’d be more afraid of trying to pronounce the word aloud!) But most people love the delicate, winged creatures who visit our flowering bushes and seek out milkweed in our gardens. Delicate and fascinating, these little guests are welcome almost everywhere.

 

They’re beautiful, right? But they weren’t always so easy on the eyes. As we all know, they began life as caterpillars, inching their way along whatever surface on which they found themselves. Far from graceful, caterpillars are slow-moving, awkward, and not exactly attractive. Interesting to watch (I guess), but not something I’d welcome into my hand, or anywhere else on my body. Granted, I’m more than a little bug-phobic. But even those of you who love all creatures great and small have to admit, in all honesty, that caterpillars are far less visually appealing than are butterflies.

chrysalis

God teaches me something special every time I write a book. In SPRING RAINE, he made me aware of what I call “the chrysalis effect.” A fascinating process of transition takes place between the time a caterpillar begins to spin a cocoon around itself, and the time it emerges from that cocoon an entirely different creature—graceful, free to soar the skies on lovely wings, and welcomed anywhere it feels the urge to alight. Even the cocoon goes through stages of visual appearance, some of which are incredibly beautiful. My favorite is the monarch butterfly’s jade green chrysalis, which God embellishes with natural, gold-toned trim.

 

We’re all just creeping, crawling, awkward worms until God wraps us in a chrysalis of His love and transforms us into something beautiful…something good. It is then that we can look into the mirror and see who we really are—God’s highly blessed , sanctified, beautified, favorite child. Yes, I mean you…and you…and you. EACH ONE of us is God’s favorite. (The heroine in Summer Dreams (Paradise Pines, Book 2), which releases in May, says it like this: “You are the cherry on top of God’s hot fudge sundae!”)

 

Sweet. Just….sweet.

 

2 Corinthians 5:17 (KJV)— Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.

 

 sr_coverart

About SPRING RAINE (Paradise Pines, Book 1):

An uncharacteristic, last-minute decision to do something “wild and crazy” before entering the stressful world of forensic science sends Raine Presley to Cambria, California. Against a cloud of disapproval from her slightly manipulative, over-protective parents, she signs a seasonal lease at the beautiful Paradise Pines Lodge…and winds up over her head in life and love.

Declan Keller’s just minding his own business—literally—when Raine drops into his world and turns it upside down. He’s far too busy carving beautiful shapes out of chunks of wood to be babysitting a gal from Pasadena. Even so, his father’s promise to an old friend obligates him, despite a looming deadline that could make or break his career in the art world. He’s praying for anything but Raine when she comes along.

Neither Declan nor Raine is prepared for the seemingly divine influence of Paradise Pines—and Miss Angelina Love. A mysterious lady who may or may not own the lodge, Miss Angie possesses an amazing talent for mending ruffled feathers, spouting proverbs, and somehow bending even the most determined of hearts to the power of love.

 

About Delia:

delia_bluetop_2

 

Writing Heaven’s touch into earthly tales, Delia Latham puts her characters through the fire of earthly trials to bring them out victorious by the hand of God, His heavenly messengers, and good, old-fashioned love. You’ll always find a touch of the divine in this author’s sweet tales of romance.

Delia lives in East Texas with her husband Johnny. She’s a Christian wife, mother, grandmother, sister, friend, and author of inspirational romance…with a finger or two immersed in the design pool, where she creates beautiful marketing material for other authors. Delia treasures her role as child of the King and heir to the throne of God. She’s got a “thing” for Dr. Pepper and loves hearing from readers.

Contact this author at any of the following locations:

Website

Personal blog

Facebook Reader Page

Christmas Inn Facebook Page

Twitter

 

Author Spotlight Questions:

Where is your favorite vacation spot?

I’m pretty sure it’s Ireland, but I haven’t been there yet, so I can’t say for sure. New Zealand? No, wait. Haven’t been there either. (Although, the scenery in the Lord of the Rings takes my breath away every time. I’m pretty sure I could be happy with a lifetime vacation there.) But you probably meant places I’ve actually been, so I’ll say Hawaii. I went with a friend to Oahu, and we spent a lovely week together. We lived in different states, so we weren’t together nearly as often as we would have liked. Because our visits were such treasured times, I’m sure we’d have been completely happy wherever we went, but Hawaii was absolutely lovely. We chose to stay in places away from the crowds and entertain ourselves quietly…lots of visiting time. Julie lost her battle with cancer about a year and a half ago, so those memories are especially precious to me now. It’s a gorgeous island, lots of things to do, places to go…trouble to find…lol  I’m glad I had that special, unforgettable time with my friend.

 

What do you enjoy most about writing?

Writing has always been an outlet for me. I’m actually pretty shy when it comes to meeting people, being in crowds, speaking in public. Yeah, I’m a loner. So, even as a child, I wrote. I love that I can say things when I write that I’d never to think to say in conversation. I can be whoever I want to be, go where I want to go, say what I want to say—and I don’t have to worry about it, because hey, it’s just fiction! But I also consider writing a ministry, because I can touch hearts when they don’t even know they’re being touched. I can feed God’s Word and His principles into hearts and minds while they’re being entertained. Who knows what seed might fall on good ground and take root?

What can readers who enjoy your book do to help make it successful?

Great question! Readers can help so much, in so many ways. Here are a few of them:

  1. Tell your friends about books you enjoy. Let them see your excitement and your pleasure in the story. They’ll want to read it too.
  2. Write a review and post it to Amazon, Goodreads, etc. Reviews are not hard to write. They need only be a sentence or two, if that’s all you’re comfortable with. Just speak from your heart about what you liked about the book. Many readers base their purchasing decisions on the opinions of those who’ve already tried a product.
  3. Ask the author if she has bookmarks or postcards (which also work great as bookmarks) you can leave at your local library/pass out to the ladies at your church, job, reading group, etc. Many times, the staff at doctors’ offices will grant permission to leave a half dozen or so spread out across the tables in the waiting room, or tucked into the brochure rack. (By the way, I do. If you’d like to spread some around your circle of contact, let me know.)

Just be sure to follow through. Those bookmarks/postcards/business cards are free to you, but they were not free to the author. If you ask for marketing products, be sure to get those items into the hands of others who might be interested in the author’s books.

  1. Chat up the book on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc. Post a picture of yourself holding a print book or a tablet with the book cover on the screen. Tell everyone how much you loved the book.
  2. Excitement is contagious! Pass it along.

 

Question for readers:  Have you experienced the chrysalis effect? In what way(s) did God change you? Share what it felt like when you broke free of the cocoon to discover God had given you wings of freedom by leaving a comment on this blog, and we’ll randomly select one winner of a free e-book or print (US only) copy of Summer Raine.

Thank you so much, Leeann, for inviting me to be here with you and your readers today. It’s been fun!

One thought on “The Chrysalis Effect — Delia Latham

Comments are closed.