Karen Whalen — Author Spotlight

And today I am happy to welcome Karen Whalen back as she answers some tough questions so we can get to know her a little better.

Tell us about your next book & when is it being published? Why do you write the kind of books you do?

I write a culinary, cozy murder mystery series, mostly because I love to read them. What I appreciate most is a protagonist with whom I would want to be friends and a setting where I would like to live. I want my readers to feel that way about my protagonist, Jane, and my setting, Denver, Colorado. The first, Everything Bundt the Truth, was released by The Wild Rose Press in November 2016, and the second, Not According to Flan, will be released in 2017.

In the first book, Jane Marsh is a recent widow who wants to recapture a rich, full life. She auditions to join an exclusive dinner club, but is barred when her housekeeper is found murdered and she and her guest list become the suspect list. In the second in the series, Jane sells her comfortable home of twenty years and relocates to a far northern suburb. She can’t feel at home in the new house after she finds a dead body in the construction site next door.  In book three, No Grater Evil, a campground host is murdered while the dinner club are camping together in the Rocky Mountains.

What is your current work in progress?

I’m working on the fourth book in the series, A Stewed Observation, which takes place in Ireland while the dinner club group are on holiday.

 

What would be your dream vacation?

My husband and I would like to stay three months in Ireland as part of a house exchange. We love Ireland and would love to spend an extended stay there.

 

Karen C. Whalen is the author of the Dinner Club Murder Mystery series. She worked as a paralegal at a law firm in Denver, Colorado. She has been a columnist and regular contributor to The National Paralegal Reporter magazine and has hosted dinner club events for a number of years.

Website: http://karencwhalen.com/

twitter: @whalenkc

 

 

 

