Stop Coming Up with Ideas – Teresa Lily

This week I am excited to welcome back Teresa Lilly as she helps us to change our mindset about book ideas.

Perhaps the title of this article sounds strange, but I found myself shouting that at my twenty-four-year-old daughter the other day.  She isn’t a novel or novella writer, although she dabbles in poetry and song, but she reads a book a day and has many, many ideas.

About once a week she walks into my bedroom turned office and says, “Mom, I have an idea for a book you should write.”

I usually respond with, “Why don’t you write it?”  However, within minutes of telling me the story line, I’m hooked and can’t wait to write the story.  Of course, turning her short idea into a full length or novella length story leaves much to be desired.  I sometimes feel as if I’m letting her down when I go off a different direction with a story than she originally planned.

Not only does she give me ideas, she travels with me to bed and breakfasts in small Texas towns and thus many of my stories are born.  I written about Boerne, Texas, Bandera, Texas, Fredericksburg, Texas, Waterhole, Texas….

This week she came in with a new idea and I had to put my hand up to stop her, because there are times when I am so far behind in my writing, I can’t take on another idea.  I know it’s crazy to turn down a good story idea, but when you have someone as creative as my daughter feeding you wonderful ideas, it’s just too hard to say no.

Where do you find your story ideas?

What type of stories do you like to write?

What type of stories do you like to read?

Send me an email and tell me your funny or unique story idea, or where you once got a story idea from and I will send you a free PDF copy of my book Love Found in Boerne.

new teresa resize    love-found-in-boerne-texas

Teresa Ives Lilly writes Christian Novellas. She loves to hear from her readers at www.teresaiveslilly@yahoo.com . you can see all her books at www.teresalilly.wordpress.com  and you can see Love Found In Boerne at https://www.amazon.com/Love-Found-Boerne-Texas-Christmas-ebook/dp/B00XK99XW4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1478558722&sr=8-1&keywords=love+found+in+boerne

 

 

