Karin Beery — Author Spotlight

And Karin returns today to answer some tough questions.

I’m a big fan of answering questions for an author spotlight, but this was a little more difficult. So many fun questions, but I could only pick three! It took a while to narrow it down, but here’s what I picked:

What do you enjoy most about writing?

I love that there are no wrong answers. Yes, you need to learn the craft of writing and you need understand grammar, but you can write about anything. I may not like your story, but other people will. The same goes for my story.

I also love that I don’t have to use everything that I write, and I can write more than I’m planning to use. Often I end up cutting whole chapters from manuscripts, but that doesn’t mean they’re gone forever. I save them in a folder and visit them when I need inspiration.

What would be your dream vacation?

An island with 70-75 degree temperatures, sandy beaches, and a room with a view (and a memory foam mattress). I need to be close to people so I can see the sights and mingle, but I also need some privacy so my introvert husband can have a quiet room to relax while I’m out exploring (yes, the hubs and I will do separate things while on vacation).

How do you keep your sanity in our run, run, run world?

For a while I didn’t, and I ended up with a diagnosis of adrenal fatigue (if you never seem to have enough energy – even when sleeping eight hours a night and eating well – consider talking to a naturopathic about this). My husband, however, takes his Sabbath very seriously, and he’s helped me appreciate this often ignored Biblical principle. I don’t always take my day of rest on the same day, but I make sure to take time to let my body recharge.

I also stopped feeling guilty. I don’t believe in the Super Woman/Mom myth – we weren’t created to do everything for everyone without any help, and that’s okay. If I don’t finish everything on my to-do list, that’s okay. If it takes me 18-24 months to finish a novel, that’s okay. I can only do so much, and there’s nothing wrong with that.

Now it’s my turn to ask! If you could vacation anywhere in the world, where would you go?

 2 color

About Karin:

Owner of Write Now Editing and Copywriting Services, Karin Beery has had more than five hundred articles published in various periodicals, in addition to writing her novels. She is an active member of American Christian Fiction Writers, the American Christian Writers Association, and Christian Proofreaders and Editors Network. She is represented by literary agent Steve Hutson at Word Wise Media. You can connect with her on Facebook, Twitter, or at her website, www.karinbeery.com.

 

 

