James Callan — Interview with Brandi

This week I am thrilled to welcome author James Callan as he interviews one of his characters. Sometimes the best way to get to know a character is through an interview. And read on through to the end–James has some exciting news to share concerning a certain writing contest!

Jim:  Today, I’m visiting with Brandi Brewer, a key player in A Silver Medallion. Hi Brandi, I understand you’re Crystal’s roommate.

Brandi:  We share a two bedroom house not too far from downtown Dallas.

Jim:  How’d you meet Crystal?

Brandi:  She was looking for someone to share  the house with. A friend of a friend told me about it and I called her.  We met at a coffee shop, visited and struck a deal. I wasn’t sure I wanted to do it. I mean, she was pretty business like. But it was a nice  house, two good sized bedrooms. Only one bath. Great location and not too pricey. I said cool.

Jim:  How long have you two shared the house?

Brandi: Gotta be close to four.

Jim:  How’s is working out?

Brandi:  What do you think, Jim?  It’s nearly four years and we’re still friends.

Jim:  Well, I mean you got stabbed and nearly died because of Crystal.

Brandi:  Hold it. You want to continue this interview, back off.  It was not because of Crystal. Some dumb dud comes in, gets some information, then decides to break my foot and stab me. He’s to blame, not Crystal. Got that? Otherwise, we’re through.

Jim:  I’ve got it. You’re dating a detective, right? How’s that going?

Brandi:  Fantantalistic. Tom is the greatest. I went with a lot of scum before I met Tom. Then along came Tom, a tough cop – actually a detective, a gentleman through and through. I love the  guy.

Jim:  But you’re still rooming with Crystal.

Brandi:  See. I told you Tom was a gentleman. He’s ready for us to move in together. But I’ve seen too many of my friends rush into things, then regret it.  I said I wanted to take it slow.  He’s okay with that. Lot of guys wouldn’t stand for that.

Jim: I heard you weren’t always Brandi.

Brandi:  Yeah. Never liked Bertha. Would you? Decided, why keep the name of one of Dad’s old girlfriends? I didn’t like it.  I’m sure Mom didn’t either. So, poof, gone.  Took off twenty pounds, changed the hair. I got mousey brown from mom. No more.  Got washed-out blue eyes from Dad. Accuvue gave me these aqua beauties. Decided the nose was fine. Wore braces for two years.

Jim:  You just decided to . . .

Brandi: Look the way I wanted to. Oh, and I took a course in make-up. Best money I ever spent. Even the contacts didn’t do as much for my eyes as knowing how to put on eye shadow, and eyeliner, and eyebrow pencil.

Jim:  You and Crystal seem … different.

Brandi:  Maybe it’s that opposites attract thing. She’s got natural beauty; I had to recreate mine. She’s got lots of book learning;  I’ve got street smarts. I think we’re a good match. So does Crystal.

Jim:  Sounds like Crystal’s lucky to have you around.

Brandi: Now you’re getting it. Hey, gotta run. I’m on the late shift today.

Jim: And now for the drum roll…I just received notice that A Silver Medallion won First Place in the East Texas Writers Guild Book Awards – in the mystery/thriller category.  They had entries from all over the U.S. and one of the honorable mentions was from England!ETWG Contest Award

 

About Jim:

After a successful career in mathematics and computer science, receiving grants from the National Science Foundation and NASA, and being listed in Who’s Who in Computer Science and Two Thousand Notable Americans, James R. Callan turned to his first love—writing.  He has had four non-fiction books published.  He now concentrates on his favorite genre, mystery/suspense.  His eleventh book is scheduled to release in June, 2016.

 

Website:   www.jamesrcallan.com

Blog:          www.jamesrcallan.com/blog

Fcebook:                             https://www.facebook.com/james.callan.33865

Twitter                                 https://twitter.com/jamesrcallan

 

Visit  http://jamesrcallan.com/silver-chpt1.htm  to read the first chapter.

 

