Beth Wiseman — Author/Book Spotlight

Today we welcome Beth Wiseman back. Read all the way through to see how to win a free copy of Message in a Bottle. (hint, leave a comment with your email address)

 

What genres do I write in and why?

I started my publishing career with Thomas Nelson (now HarperCollins Christian Fiction) writing Amish novels and novellas.  I’m grateful to my editors for allowing me to spread my wings within that genre, to go deeper.  I’ve done that by covering some sensitive issues in my stories.  I’ve written about suicide, teen cutting, autism, mental illness, adoption, spousal and child abuse, and a host of other topics that don’t necessarily fit the ‘Amish mold’. My stories are still gentle reads, but I like to push readers to think “what if?”.  And I try to sprinkle enough humor within the pages so that the reader doesn’t feel bogged down, all in an effort to create balance, but also to inspire folks to dig a little deeper into their own psyche.  I think readers want to be challenged, and I strive to do that.

However, I think that any time an author has written a lot of books in one genre, we start to get the itch to travel out of those boundaries.  For me, the Surf’s Up novellas were born.  Each Surf’s Up novella takes the reader to a beach locale, weaving romance and adventure into a soul-soothing journey of hope.  I love the beach, and I love to read. It seemed like a good fit for me, and I have really enjoyed alternating between these non-Amish novellas and my Amish series’. The best of both worlds.

 

What do you think about when you’re alone in your car?

This seems to surprise people, but I actually drive a big ol’ diesel truck.  I live in Texas, lol.  But the first thing I do when I get behind the wheel is pray for safe travels.  I don’t like driving, and I’m overly fearful about having an accident.  I was a newspaper reporter for years, and as such, I’ve been at a lot of accident scenes.  Some of them still haunt me.  But once I’ve put my worries in God’s hands, it’s all about my books!  Many a character has shown up while I was driving, and he or she fills my head about the adventures they plan to have in my next book.  We telepathically discuss themes, plots, and who else might find their way into the story.

 

Who is my ideal reader?

My ideal reader is strolling the bookstore, Walmart, or wherever they might be shopping, and they pass by one of my books.  They barely give it look, but then they go have another look.  My ideal reader puts the book back, but goes back again, and for reasons they aren’t sure of, they feel called to buy it.  I believe with all my heart that God leads people to the stories they need to read.  My ideal reader is a person who gained something spiritually or has been helped in some way because they read one of my books.

 What about you? Have you ever picked up a book that called to you? Did it make a difference in your life?

We will randomly choose from the comments left here on this blog post one reader to receive a paperback copy of my newest Surf’s Up novella, Message In A Bottle.  Good Luck!

 

 

About Beth

Beth Wiseman is best known for her Daughters of the Promise series and the Land of Canaan Amish series. Having sold over 1.5 million books, her novels have held spots on multiple bestseller lists, and she has been the recipient of many prestigious literary awards. Beth is contracted with HarperCollins Christian Publishing into the year 2019, and she has published fourteen novels and sixteen novellas to date.

 

Beth has a deep affection for the Amish and their simpler way of life, and while she plans to continue writing Amish love stories, she is also branching out into other areas including Christian contemporary romance novels and novellas.  Need You Now, The House that Love Built, The Promise and A Tide Worth Turning are some of these recent releases.

 

Beth and her husband are empty nesters enjoying the country life in Texas with three dogs and a rooster. When she’s not writing, Beth loves to travel, paint, and enjoy time with friends and family. You can find Beth and her books at her website BethWiseman.com, Fans of Beth Wiseman on Facebook where she interacts with readers, and on Twitter at https://twitter.com/bethwiseman.

 

About Message in a Bottle

 

One man. Two women. A child desperate for medical treatment. How can Kyle choose between the woman he once loved and his current fiancée? Is there a solution that suits all involved, or will someone end up out of the triangle forever?   

 

Morgan Calhoun and her parents are whisked away in the middle of the night, something Morgan always knew was a possibility because of her father’s CIA job. But she’d always thought if such a scenario played out that she would have time to say goodbye to those she loved—particularly her boyfriend, Kyle. Adding to her unbearable situation, several weeks after the move, Morgan finds out that she’s pregnant.

 

Kyle Brossmann doesn’t even get a break-up letter from Morgan. She’s just gone, along with her parents. His heart broken, Kyle continues with his plans. He graduates from high school and attends college, where he meets his fiancée, Lexie. But two men visit Kyle and encourage him to travel to an undisclosed location, where he will meet his five-year-old daughter. Rocked by the news that he has a child, Kyle learns he is the only person who might be able to save his daughter’s life.

 

Will Kyle choose his first love and his daughter? Or will he stay with Lexie and live the life they’ve been planning?

 

Each Surf’s Up novella takes the reader to a beach locale, weaving romance and adventure into a soul-soothing journey of hope.  

 

8 thoughts on “Beth Wiseman — Author/Book Spotlight

  1. I am a cover reader and usually I am dead on!!! I will look at the cover and put the book down and then pick it up after looking at several then read the back (usually the first paragraph). Then more likely then not I will make the purchase. If the cover does not intrigue me I probably will not read it. For the longest time I only read Historical Romance and if Fabio was not on the cover it took a lot for me to check out the book. Then I moved to Beverly Lewis Amish reads and was hooked. I still pick up those Romance books (Sadly Fabio aged out) but I do read more Amish and Christian Fiction. Beth your covers do get the second look!!!

    • Connie, thanks for the insights into a book-buyer’s mind. I’m sure your thoughts will encourage indie authors as well as traditionally published authors.

  2. I do pick up books based on the cover. Then I read the back to see if it’ll draw me in. Once I know an author well, or a particular book series well, I will purchase the book based on that. ie Jan Karon’s Mitford series or anything by Maeve Binchey (her “Scarlet Feather” and “Quentin’s” are two of my most favouritist books ever).

    • Thanks, Arletta, for stopping by. I hear you about the known author — particularly in a series, we start to recognize the “look” of the cover or even the spine.

  3. I pass on lots of books just because of the covers, unless I recognize the authors name. If it catches my eye, I read the back to see if it’s something I might enjoy reading and reviewing.
    tumcsec(at)gmail(dot)com

    • Gail, thanks for your comments. I think you all have highlighted how important the back cover copy is, too, so as authors we want to make sure that the back cover reflects the story so we fulfill our promise to our readers.

Comments are closed.