Sherri Stone — Author Spotlight

And today we welcome Sherri back as she answers some tough questions about the writing life.

Welcome, Sherri.

 

What is your ‘go to’ routine that helps you get in the mood to write?

This is a little OCD of me but my writing space has to be straight before I can write. As a kid I could never do my homework if my room was messy. It’s like the clutter bleeds its way into my brain and blocks every thought. So, a little cleaning when needed, and of course, a secret drawer of Dove chocolates – to reward myself along the way.

writing room

Chocolate stash.jpg

 

What do you think about when you’re alone in your car?

I love this question! It’s also a little scary, so I’ll censor my answer. J I have a forty-minute drive to and from work every day. I’ve always loved the alone time of driving and it has been, at times, my way to escape whatever was going on, even for just a few minutes. I often use it to pray and talk things out – out loud – without someone thinking I need to be committed. Very often, though, I crank the music up and let myself fantasize a story plot. I have a very active imagination in the car, and I find that my fantasy self is pretty amazing! She is athletic and tall and graceful, and speaks about a dozen languages and is always off doing the most daring things like rescuing people from the sex slave industry. She’s very brave and resourceful. A female McGyver. All the things I’m not. Oh yeah, she can sing, too. I sing. I really do. In the car. By myself. Aren’t you sorry you asked, now?

 

What genres do you write in and why?

I write romantic suspense because that’s what I love to read and those plots seem to be the ones that come to me. You know, in the car. J I would like to write some funny stuff one day, because I love to laugh and to make other people laugh, and because Proverbs 17:22 says a cheerful heart is good medicine. I could use a dose of that every day, couldn’t you?

I have some ideas for devotional type books, and for some books about serious subjects, like hospice (where I’ve spent nine years), and about listening to God speak. Those are in progress now, along with the second and third book in the series following Sacred Ashes. My plan is to publish both of those this year, book two in the summer, and book three in the fall. Then off to the next project.

 

Sherri has been a social worker for almost 25 years. Her debut fiction novel, Sacred Ashes was released last year and is available through Amazon and Barnes and Noble. Book two in the series is due out this summer, and book three by the end of the year.

 

Sherris picture                                                       Kindle Cover

Sherri has been a social worker for almost 25 years. Her debut fiction novel, Sacred Ashes was released last year and is available through Amazon and Barnes and Noble. Book two in the series is due out this summer, and book three by the end of the year.

Links:

Blogs:   Click here

Click here for my hospice blog

 

Facebook:  Click here     (I don’t have an author page anymore so if you want to leave this one out that’s fine.)

 

Twitter: Click here

 

Pinterest:  Click here

 

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Sacred-Ashes-Lethal-Legacy-Book-ebook/dp/B00XVBKMYY?ie=UTF8&keywords=sacred%20ashes&qid=1463507676&ref_=sr_1_1&s=books&sr=1-1

 

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/sacred-ashes-sherri-stone/1122088075?ean=2940151420839

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Sherri Stone — Author Spotlight

Comments are closed.