Research for a Contemporary Novel

Hello Readers: Today we welcome Paula Mowery, Christian author, who is going to talk to us about research, a critical component whether the book has a contemporary or historical setting.

The Crux of Honor includes characters who have connections with the Amish. My story’s plot relied heavily on finding a hereditary condition transferred through Amish families. I contacted an author friend who was also a doctor. He led me to a great website on Amish diseases and medical conditions. At first, I wondered if I could locate what I was looking for due to the overwhelming lists of ailments on this site and its difficult medical vocabulary. It also became apparent that I would need not only some sort of medical condition but also one very close to it for a misdiagnosis.

As I always do with all my writing, I prayed. But I prayed very specifically to find what I needed for this story to work out the way God was leading.

I’ll never forget the day I found both medical conditions and how perfect they were for the story. I had a little praise-fest right there in front of my laptop.

The first condition had no treatment options and offered very little hope of survival. But the second condition I discovered stated it was often misdiagnosed for the first. The second condition had very simple treatment options and hope for a normal life.

My experience with medical conditions and sites with all types of medical jargon is quite limited. It was apparent to me that God had led my eyes to exactly what I needed to finish my story. This should not surprise me since He has brought to mind just the right scripture to undergird my stories before as well. Yet I must say that God never ceases to amaze me in what He teaches me through my research and writing process.

 

About Paula:

Paula Mowery is a published author, acquisitions editor, and speaker. Her first two published works were The Blessing Seer and Be The Blessing from Pelican Book Group. Both are women’s fiction, and their themes have been the topics of speaking engagements. Be The Blessing won the Selah Award in 2014 in the novella category. In November of 2013 her first romance released in the anthology, Brave New Century, from Prism Book Group. This book went to number five on Amazon’s bestseller category, historical Christian romance. Legacy and Love was her first solo romance and was a finalist in the Carolyn Readers Choice Awards in 2015. Her other titles include a Christian romantic suspense called For Our Good, a Christmas romance called Love Again, and a romance inspired from the Love Chapter called The Crux of Honor.

 

Reviewers of her writing characterize it as “thundering with emotion.” Her articles have appeared in Woman’s World, The Christian Online Magazine, and the multi-author devotional blogs, Full Flavored Living and Putting on the New. She wrote a section for Join the Insanity by Rhonda Rhea. She has devotionals included in several collaborative books.

 

Having been an avid reader of Christian fiction, she now puts that love to use by writing book reviews. She is a member of ACFW and also on the faculty for the Blue Ridge Mountains Christian Writers Conference.

 

Paula is a pastor’s wife and mom to a college student. She homeschooled her daughter through all twelve years, and they both lived to tell about it. Before educating her daughter at home, she was an English teacher in public school.

 

Learn more about Paula at her blog as well as find other links to connect with her at www.paulamowery.blogspot.com

2 thoughts on “Research for a Contemporary Novel

Comments are closed.