Being a Peacemaker – Interview with Sarah Sawyer

Good day to you. This week I managed to convince Ginger Solomon to sit down with Sarah Sawyer, the heroine in her latest release, Broken Valentine, to learn more about the reasons she made the decisions she made.

GS: Welcome, Sarah. Let’s get right to it, shall we?

SS: (Sarah rests her clasped hands in her lap and nods.)

GS: Tell me a little about your childhood.

SS: I grew up in a conservative Christian home. I have an older sister, Leann, and an older brother, Clay. Mom worked as a part-time secretary, but was always home when we got out of school. Dad worked longer hours, of course, as a doctor. We went to church whenever the doors were open. Sleeping in on Sunday because we’d stayed out late on Saturday was not an option. Dad was, and still is, a believer in obeying the commands God set forth in the Bible, and he expects us to do the same.

GS: Is that why you capitulated to his demands to marry?

SS: I knew when I walked Michael into my apartment that my actions might lead to certain consequences. But sending him home after he’d been so kind wasn’t right either. I was stuck between the proverbial “rock and a hard place.”

GS: I see. Let’s step back for a second. Clay found himself in a similar situation not long ago, and it didn’t seem your dad was as adamant that he marry Jade.

SS: (sighs) Yes, I know. It’s something I’ve been meaning to talk to my dad about, but haven’t had the nerve to bring up. Maybe he did want Clay to marry Jade. Clay has been married before and is older, so I imagine if my dad did bring it up, he probably told my dad to stay out of it. Clay’s like that. Always has been.

GS: But you’re not?

SS: No. In the Sermon on the Mount, in Matthew 5, Jesus talks about different groups of people. I fall into the peacemaker group. I’d rather capitulate than fight.

GS: But it could have meant your future happiness. Some might even call your parents heavy-handed and old-fashioned, even unrealistic for the twenty-first century.

SS: And they might be right. What Michael’s and my parents did was definitely old-fashioned and a bit heavy-handed. Had one set not been as adamant, we might have walked away and never looked back. But then, I would have missed out on the blessing that God meant just for me. I firmly believe, as does Michael, that God turned our unusual situation into something supremely good.

GS: Ah…Romans 8:28, “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” One of my favorite verses. Thank you for stopping in, Sarah, and explaining a little about the reasons for your decisions.

Ginger smaller                                        Broken Valentine cover

 

 

 

Ginger Solomon is a Christian, a wife, a mother to seven, and a writer — in that order (mostly). When not homeschooling her youngest four, doing laundry or fixing dinner, she writes or reads romance of any genre, some sci-fi/fantasy, and some suspense. She’s a member of American Christian Fiction Writers, president of her local writing group, and writes regularly for two blogs. In addition to all that, she loves animals, likes to do needlework (knitting, crocheting, and sometimes cross-stitch), and is a fan of Once Upon a Time and Dr. Who.

Author Links:

Website

Inspy Romance Blog

Facebook Author Page

Twitter @GingerS219

Pinterest

2 thoughts on “Being a Peacemaker – Interview with Sarah Sawyer

Comments are closed.