Author Spotlight – Renee-Ann Giggie

renee-ACFW 2014.2Print

Today we spotlight author Renee-Ann Giggie as she opens up and shares some of her secrets with us, as well as the first page of her book, Emma’s Prayer.

Three fun unique things about me:

  1. I’m a scrapbooker. When I’m not writing, I scrapbook, which to me is like writing stories with pictures.
  2. I was a short-term missionary in Zimbabwe, Africa twice. I’d do it again in a heartbeat.
  3. My favourite animal is the grizzly bear. I’ve never seen a more beautiful animal in my life.

Dedicated place to write.

my writing space

Sometimes I write in my home office, and sometimes from my recliner. My favourite place to write is in the spare bedroom. I have a back pillow with arms, a four-legged breakfast tray on which I set my laptop, and a hospital-type table for miscellaneous items such as reference guides, dictionaries, or a bottle of water. (See picture attached).

What genre do I write and why?

I love suspense. Back in the 80s, I stumbled upon Mary Higgins Clark’s first novel. I was hooked instantly to that kind of stories. Later, once I discovered Christian fiction, I began to read T. Davis Bunn, Terri Blackstock, and other such great names. They inspired me to write not necessarily whodunit types of books but leaving people in suspense until the end.

Bio:

Renee-Ann’s a member of several writing groups and is no stranger to Christian writers’ conferences. Her latest novel, Emma’s Prayer (Feb 2016), is the story of a teen mom who puts her son up for adoption, but soon misses him, changes her mind, and sets out to get him back. Is she too late? Click HERE for Emma’s Prayer.

She’s now working on a third novel. She and her husband live in New Brunswick, Canada.

 

LINKS:

www.facebook.com/ragiggie

http://twitter.com/ragiggie

http://reneeanngiggie.com

 

First page of my book:

CHAPTER ONE

 

April 2

 

“Push!” Nurse Jackson barked.

The pain ripped through Emi’s abdomen, all the way to the tip of her toes. How much longer could she put up with it? “I’m too tired. I can’t do this anymore,” Emi cried.

“Girl, you should have thought twice before you got pregnant.”

A contraction stole Emi’s breath away. She grimaced, grabbed the handrail, and fixed her eyes on the overhead mirror. Her lips taut, she tensed every muscle in her body. Holding her breath, she pushed.

“Come on.” Nurse Jackson met Emi’s eyes. “The baby’s almost here.”

The contraction passed. Emi blew out a long ragged breath, and dropped onto the pillow like a rag doll. She eyed the husky nurse who had dark skin, short curly hair, and spoke like a drill sergeant. Emi didn’t care. She wanted it to be over. Another pain tore through her thoughts, scattering them like fallen leaves in a high wind.

“Come on, child. Push!”

The baby’s head appeared in the mirror above. Emi’s mouth fell open. In vain, she fought against the physical pain. Her heart fought harder against the mixed emotions swirling within. Was it a boy or a girl? The way he’d kicked the past few months, he had to be the next football star or professional boxer.

2 thoughts on “Author Spotlight – Renee-Ann Giggie

  1. Thank you so much for having me. When I read a book, I have all kinds of questions in my mind about the authors whose books I read. I think that’s why I love to share with my readers. Have a blessed weekend. 😀

Comments are closed.