Colonel Archibald Gracie and Lawrence Beesley, Titanic Authors

Readers,

This week I’m featuring research on the Titanic done by my writer pal and online friend, Paula Moldenhauer. Below is an excerpt from one of her blog posts.

“My hunger for historical research has had to be tempered by deadline! But I found I couldn’t do much story writing until I established a big-picture understanding of Titanic. I quit even pretending to write until I finished two of the most trusted first-hand book-length accounts of the Titanic. Both are available for free on the Internet. My favorite, Loss of the S.S. Titanic, was written by Lawrence Beesley, a teacher and Cambridge graduate. His story is well-written, easy to follow, and descriptive. He was one of only 8% of second class men to survive, sent off in one of the lifeboats when no more women were to be found.
When Beesley was first approached about writing a book, he declined. But after hearing so many sensationalized accounts of the sinking, Lawrence agreed to the book contract in hopes he could give a more accurate portrayal of the situation, honor the victims and survivors’ courage, and encourage reform to make future sea-going passengers safer. You can find his book organized on one of the most comprehensive Titanic websites with links to more specific information on some of the things he writes about.” Click here to read the full article.  (If the link does not take you directly to the article, scroll down a bit.)

Leeann

2 thoughts on “Colonel Archibald Gracie and Lawrence Beesley, Titanic Authors

Comments are closed.